Help i am a Rookie
03-08-2023, 09:05 AM
Help i am a Rookie
Hallo,

I am new here and at the beginning I have a question.

I have two offers to buy an HP-Calculator on an interesting price.

An HP 29C and an HP 41 CV. Both in good condition and working.

I am not so interested in collecting things. I am also not need complex programming.

So I only want an good old calculator and that’s it is.

I found a lot of interesting information in the internet (f.e. the HP 41 CV is an Halfnut ) , but nothing in the art of a compare between Woodstock an 41.

Is there an difference in Quality or durability of both? Or is there another Difference wich mak it sence to prefer one of the both?

Most things getting worse in newer Editions that’s the reason why I want an “old” Calculator”

Thanks for your Help
Bubu
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-08-2023, 02:28 PM (This post was last modified: 03-08-2023 02:37 PM by ThomasF.)
RE: Help i am a Rookie
Hello,

You will probably get as many different suggestions as replies ... Wink
These are two similar but still very different machines, and the reply would differ depending on what you look at, and had I to choose only one of them, I would go for the 41 (but it is not obvious).

I think the build quality was better in the Woodstock (ie. the 29C), the 41 is much more fragile (I would rather drop my 29C to the floor than the 41), so as a good "old" calculator the 29C is better.

Looking at programming possibilities the 41 is miles ahead, with alphanumeric display, opcodes ("04 STO 02") instead of keycodes ("04 33 02"), better program handling and editing, and with options of a lot of peripherals such as modules, printer, interfaces etc. Even the possibilities to program both in assembler or Forth if one would like to ... Wink
Just for "simpler" calculations they are just as great.