Post Reply 
Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
12-07-2014, 05:38 PM
Post: #1
Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
I see that emu41 and VB41CX both mention in the docs that synthetic instructions are supported.

Do either of those or the sdk41 - M41 support a byte-grabber ?

I tried using the instructions at http://www.hpmuseum.org/prog/synth41.htm, without success so far.

Mike
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-08-2014, 09:48 AM
Post: #2
RE: Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
Hi Mike,

I do have zenrom running on the v41 emulator

How would I use it to create the "synthetic tone" example ?

Mike
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-08-2014, 10:35 AM (This post was last modified: 12-08-2014 10:36 AM by Garth Wilson.)
Post: #3
RE: Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
(12-08-2014 09:48 AM)mstram Wrote:  I do have zenrom running on the v41 emulator

How would I use it to create the "synthetic tone" example ?

Witn the ZENROM you can do for example:

TONE 87

or

TONE EEX 13

(for TONE 113)

http://WilsonMinesCo.com (Lots of HP-41 links at the bottom of the links page, http://wilsonminesco.com/links.html )
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-08-2014, 12:48 PM
Post: #4
RE: Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
Hi Garth,

Thx.

Is there a duration command / setting / register ?

Mike
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-08-2014, 09:13 PM
Post: #5
RE: Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
Both the frequency and duration (probably the number of cycles) are set by the tone number. I suspect it is an index into a table, and only the first ten positions are actually part of the table, and addresses beyond that contain instructions which are harmless to fetch as data but the outcomes will be rather random. The list of frequencies and durations is shown on page 76 of the book "HP-41 HP-IL System Dictionary" by Cary E. Reinstein. It does not appear to be on the museum DVD set, but you can see it on TOS. I'll email you the link. Having 117 extra TONEs is kind of cute and minorly useful, but the ZENROM makes all synthetics to be like they weren't synthetic at all.

http://WilsonMinesCo.com (Lots of HP-41 links at the bottom of the links page, http://wilsonminesco.com/links.html )
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-08-2014, 10:12 PM
Post: #6
RE: Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
(12-08-2014 09:13 PM)Garth Wilson Wrote:  The list of frequencies and durations is shown on page 76 of the book "HP-41 HP-IL System Dictionary" by Cary E. Reinstein.

Bill Wickes' book on synthetic programming contains such a table as well. A link to the German translation of this book, published by Heldermann Verlag, was recently posted in this forum. The table can be found on page 118.

Dieter
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-08-2014, 11:54 PM (This post was last modified: 12-08-2014 11:56 PM by Thomas Klemm.)
Post: #7
RE: Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
(12-07-2014 05:38 PM)mstram Wrote:  Do either of those or the sdk41 - M41 support a byte-grabber ?
Not exactly the answer but it works with both Virtual HP-41 (Windows) and Nonpareil (Linux).
However it crashes my41 (OS X). Sad

(12-08-2014 08:51 AM)Mike (Stgt) Wrote:  Don't walk, drive the bus! Smile
Sometimes walking is more fun. For the lazy I can recommend the CCD module.

Cheers
Thomas
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-09-2014, 09:56 AM
Post: #8
RE: Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
(12-09-2014 09:37 AM)Mike (Stgt) Wrote:  So you may drive more than only one bus, virtualy even a space ship. (But read manual first!)

Ciao.....Mike


Mike, glad to see you are still enjoying Hercules... ;)

Greetings,
    Massimo

-+×÷ ↔ left is right and right is wrong
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-09-2014, 01:19 PM
Post: #9
RE: Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
I play with Hercules a lot.

Heh, who's going to code an HP-41 sim in 370 assembler to run on Hercules ?

Crazy person that I am, I have run Hercules on Linux on Hercules, on Windows just for grins Wink

Mike
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-09-2014, 02:00 PM
Post: #10
RE: Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
(12-09-2014 01:19 PM)mstram Wrote:  I play with Hercules a lot.

Heh, who's going to code an HP-41 sim in 370 assembler to run on Hercules ?

Crazy person that I am, I have run Hercules on Linux on Hercules, on Windows just for grins ;)

Mike

We already have Mike's NutEm! :)
A brief history.

Greetings,
    Massimo

-+×÷ ↔ left is right and right is wrong
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-09-2014, 02:32 PM
Post: #11
RE: Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
(12-09-2014 02:00 PM)Massimo Gnerucci Wrote:  We already have Mike's NutEm! Smile

A brief history.

>Message #1 Posted by Mike (Stgt) on 27 Nov 2003, 6:01 a.m.

But the day is near (nearer) when I may offer my NutEm (coconut emulator, HP-41) for everybody who owns a somewhat normal PC.

Is that day any "nearer" Wink

A search for 'nutem' doesn't return anything in the software library.

Mike
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-09-2014, 03:19 PM
Post: #12
RE: Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
(12-09-2014 02:59 PM)Mike (Stgt) Wrote:  Some nostalgia: http://web.archive.org/web/2008072514501...ges/nutem/

JFG asked me for it in Allschwil, alas it is neither complete nor up-to-date.

Ciao.....Mike

Is the (not) "complete" part the source code for nutem?

Some of the other links for the utilities work, but the "main one" is broken.

Mike
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-09-2014, 07:13 PM
Post: #13
RE: Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
Quote:For the lazy I can recommend the CCD module.

I see there are four versions. What are the differences? Ángel and Raymond, are there links to the manuals on your modifications?

http://WilsonMinesCo.com (Lots of HP-41 links at the bottom of the links page, http://wilsonminesco.com/links.html )
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-10-2014, 05:48 AM (This post was last modified: 12-10-2014 05:50 AM by Ángel Martin.)
Post: #14
RE: Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
(12-09-2014 07:13 PM)Garth Wilson Wrote:  
Quote:For the lazy I can recommend the CCD module.

I see there are four versions. What are the differences? Ángel and Raymond, are there links to the manuals on your modifications?

The OSX/B3 Module Manual is good enough to cover all functionality, and makes some comments on the additions/enhancements over the original CCD implementation of the same/similar features. The manual is posted at TOS, as usual, search for "AMC_OS/X Manual".

Cheers,
'AM

"To live or die by your own sword one must first learn to wield it aptly."
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-10-2014, 05:15 PM
Post: #15
RE: Is a byte grabber possible / present in any '41 emulator ?
(12-10-2014 05:48 AM)Ángel Martin Wrote:  The OSX/B3 Module Manual is good enough to cover all functionality, and makes some comments on the additions/enhancements over the original CCD implementation of the same/similar features. The manual is posted at TOS, as usual, search for "AMC_OS/X Manual".

Cheers, 'AM

Gene: And I can give a big thumbs up for the OSX/B3 module (and all of these - Sandmath, Sandmatrix, PowerCL, etc!) when used on the 41CL.

If you don't have a 41CL running these roms, you are really missing out.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: