[CAS] Potential Bug with given (|). [SOLVED]
|
10-30-2016, 02:19 AM
(This post was last modified: 10-30-2016 11:28 PM by CH3791.)
Post: #1
|
|||
|
|||
[CAS] Potential Bug with given (|). [SOLVED]
Good evening/morning to the good folk at HP,
For some maths questions, I have to restrict the domain. So I use the given symbol (|) in CAS. I would have something like: solve(x^2-8=0,x)|(x>0) That works perfectly. But when I add another condition like so: solve(x^2-8=0,x)|((x>0) AND (x<10)) The calculator creates a CAS variable called x, in the form of a matrix. And from this point on, the variable x will always have the "temporary" domain imposed onto it. solve(x^2-8=0,x) will start to return 2*root(2) only. solve(x+3=0,x) will give []. and so on. Unless this is an actual feature, can you guys fix this bug ASAP. Because I can already imagine how dangerous this would be for examinations... |
|||
10-30-2016, 05:03 PM
Post: #2
|
|||
|
|||
RE: [CAS] Potential Bug with given (|).
This would appear to be by design. The CAS system is converting the compound given statement into the following explicit assumptions:
assume(x>0) -> x additionally(x<10) -> x This creates the following permanent assumptions on x: about(x) -> assume[[],[line[0,10]],[0,10]] Which provides the correct solution: solve((x^2-8) = 0,x) -> {2*√2} To avoid future use of the assumptions on x, they must be purged: purge(x) -> assume[[],[line[0,10]],[0,10]] about(x) -> x Mark Hardman Ceci n'est pas une signature. |
|||
10-30-2016, 07:28 PM
Post: #3
|
|||
|
|||
RE: [CAS] Potential Bug with given (|).
(10-30-2016 05:03 PM)Mark Hardman Wrote: This would appear to be by design. The CAS system is converting the compound given statement into the following explicit assumptions: If this is intentional I think it is a bad idea. I think of the "|" operator as making a temporary assignment to a variable or applying a temporary restriction and I suspect that most people would feel this way too. TI CAS calculators have got a menu function that clears single-character variable names (a-z). It would be a good idea to advise users to implement their own such function on the Prime, and to use it regularly! Thanks to CH3791 for pointing out this potential pitfall. Nigel (UK) |
|||
10-30-2016, 07:37 PM
Post: #4
|
|||
|
|||
RE: [CAS] Potential Bug with given (|).
Well spotted, I'm fixing that in giac source.
|
|||
10-30-2016, 11:27 PM
Post: #5
|
|||
|
|||
RE: [CAS] Potential Bug with given (|).
Wow... guys... Seeing this genuinely put a smile onto my face. Time and time again, you have read over my queries (no matter how stupid they may be), and within a day have come up with an awesome response! For me as a highschool student, it was quite a gamble to move from the Casio Classpad to this mysterious, high-powered machine, but so far everything has played out flawlessly.
Part of that of course, is due to the hospitality of this community and I can't thank you guys enough for that. |
|||
11-03-2016, 12:17 PM
Post: #6
|
|||
|
|||
RE: [CAS] Potential Bug with given (|). [SOLVED]
Alphabetic variables capitalized does not work.
solve(X^2-8 = 0,X) | X>0 AND X<10; [enter] {-2*√(2),2*√(2)} about(X); [enter] 0 now x:=foo; [enter] ... solve(x^2-8 = 0,x) | x>0 AND x<10; [enter] {2*√(2)} // This should display a message that says the "contents of the variable x will be deleted" [yes/no] or "error x is not empty" otherwise, it causes of data loss or overwriting x; [enter] x =( |
|||
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »
|
User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)