Adding feet, inches, and fractions
01-15-2017, 09:48 PM
Adding feet, inches, and fractions
I am a surveyor that works in the construction industry. I have used HP calculators for the last 27 years. I am considering buying a HP Prime. Would I be able to add feet, inches, and fractions and have them displayed that way on screen? I work in decimal feet and sometimes have to add dimensions and explain to different contractors, more times than not there is a language issue. I don't speak or understand Spanish and most people on site don't understand decimal feet. I'm hoping the Prime can help me.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-16-2017, 03:29 AM (This post was last modified: 01-16-2017 04:14 AM by d b.)
RE: Adding feet, inches, and fractions
I always entered the inches & fractions from the low-talent drawings in their decimal feet equivalences. Then calced what was needed. If it was necessary to the carpenters to give their info in feet/inch/fractions, I'd convert in my head. I started out by modifying an HP41 PPC rom program to only take eighths and only output hundredths, but that got to be rote fast.