linear function
12-29-2021, 06:09 AM (This post was last modified: 12-29-2021 09:31 PM by Gene.)
linear function
I have a linear function, for instance, f(x)=2*x, I want to know which x I have to give me a f(x)=11226.
This is just a basic and a dumb exemple just an explain my doubt. I know I to define my function App and the plot it and go to Num to view my function values.
Also know how to determine my F(x) when x=15 for instance but I don know to do the opposite.
F(9)=????.
Just received my HP Prime G2 yesterday late and i'm just learning... sorry and thanks in advance!
Deiota\
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-01-2022, 12:03 AM (This post was last modified: 01-01-2022 03:08 PM by roadrunner.)
RE: linear function
In CAS:

f(x):=2*x
solve(11226=f(x),x) -> {5613}
f(9) -> 18
solve(5=f(x)) -> {5/2}

-road
01-02-2022, 09:42 AM (This post was last modified: 01-03-2022 06:02 AM by C.Ret.)
RE: linear function
Alternatively, since Dieota is currently in the long process of learning how to used its HP Prime. He may also discover other way to do it.

The first on is to use the Function Application and the Menu/Fcn/Intersecion of the plot view.

The easiest way to discover where \( f(x)=2.x \) is solution of the equation \( f(x)=11226 \) is to plot it.
  1. Press Apps button and Active the Function application by touching the icon
  2. Enter the first part of the equation (aka the f(x) function definition) in the first slot. Use the expected capital X as variable in the slot F1 so that F1(X)=2*X.
  3. Enter the second part of the equation in the second slot. Here there is no variable. Simply enter the constant so that F2(X)=11226.
  4. In the Plot SHIFT Setup view, enter windows limits scaled to the large values of the example. To have a good view of the region of interest modify the X Range from -2 000 to +30 000 and Y Range from -1 500 to 20 000. Don't hesitate to change also X Tick and Y Tick up to 1000 since the constante value is huge.